History - 1900 to 1940
In the early 1900's, a group of pioneering small business entrepreneurs got together to raise funds by selling stock in enterprises which would benefit the entire community. In 1914, this group officially formed the "Presque Isle Merchants Association". In 1945, the association became the "Presque Isle Area Chamber of Commerce".
Some examples of some of the associations ventures:
- In 1902, the St. John's Episcopal School for Boys and 5 acres of land was purchased for $2,500. They then offered the buildings and land to the State to establish the "Aroostook Normal School", which evolved into what is known today as the "University of Maine at Presque Isle".
- In early 1930, a subcommittee was formed to explore the possibility of establishing air service to the area. Land was purchased on the Mapleton Road where a hangar and runway were constructed. The first commercial aviation service was started at the "Presque Isle Airport" by "Boston & Maine Airways" in 1933. The airport was purchased by the town in 1937 and is now known as the "Northern Maine Regional Airport".
- 100 acres of land was purchased which included Quoggy Jo Mountain and Echo Lake. The land was donated to the State of Maine in 1938 and in 1939 "Aroostook State Park" was established as Maine's first State Park.